What are the curfew hours for my child in Kewanee?
Kewanee City ordinance provides for the following:
It is unlawful for a person less than 17 years of age to be present at or upon any public assembly, building, business, street or highway or other public place or way at the following times:
- Persons less than 13 years of age, between 9:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. the following day on any day of the week.
- Persons at least 13 years of age, but not yet 17 years of age, between 11:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. the following day Sunday through Thursday. Between 12:01 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. on Saturday or Sunday (Friday and Saturday nights).
This means any 16-year-old child violating the curfew laws and is driving a motor vehicle in violation of curfew, does not have a valid drivers license. Other laws may also apply to teen drivers and the times that they may drive.
There are exceptions to the curfew law, such as coming home from work, a school recreational activity or a religious event, accompanied by an adult family member, approved adult, guardian, or custodian. Please contact the Kewanee Police Department at 309-853-1911 if you have any further questions.
I have been receiving nuisance telephone calls what can I do?
Making threatening, obscene or nuisance calls is a violation of the law. If you are receiving these types of calls, you should give no personal information. Hang up, and notify the police department. Children should be advised to do the same. If you receive a threatening call, report it immediately to the Police and then contact the Unlawful Call Center toll free at 1-800-257-2969. You will need an incident number to start any enforcement actions through the call center. The Police Department will gladly provide you with the incident number related to your call for service.
I am receiving calls and mail stating that I have won a lottery or sweepstakes that I have not purchased a ticket for. What should I do?
In today’s computer age, there are countless attempts being made to access a person’s financial and/or personal information. Often times the callers are rude and intimidating. A person should never give out any personal or financial information to someone that they do not know. Never send money to pay the fees or taxes for an alleged lottery or sweepstakes win. Never cash the checks associated with these incidents as your money will likely be lost and enforcement efforts are difficult to accomplish.
Who must wear a seatbelt in Illinois?
Illinois laws provide for the following:
- In Illinois, the law states that each driver and passenger of a motor vehicle must wear a properly adjusted and fastened seat safety belt.
- Provides that whenever a person is transporting a child under age 8, the person is responsible for properly securing the child in an appropriate child restraint system, which includes a booster seat. Every person, when transporting a child 8 years of age or older, but under age 16, is responsible for properly securing that child in a seat belt. If the vehicle used to transport children under eight years of age is equipped with lap belts only in the back seat and the child weighs more than 40 pounds, the child may be transported in the back seat wearing a lap belt only. If a combination lap and shoulder belt is available, the child must be secured in a booster seat.
- The Illinois Graduated Licensing System requires all passengers to buckle-up when riding in a vehicle being driven by a person under the age of 18. Any person under the age of 18 who receives a graduated driver’s license must, for the first six months of the license or until the person reaches the age of 18, whichever occurs sooner; not drive with more than one person in the vehicle who is under the age of 20 unless they are siblings, children, step-siblings, and step children of the driver.
Also, no person may operate any 1965 or later model vehicle unless the front seats are equipped with two sets of safety belts.A child must be protected under these Child Passenger Protection Act guidelines:
- under the age of eight, secure in a child safety seat.
- eight years of age or more, but less than 16 must be secured in a seat belt or child safety seat.
- 16- and 17-year-olds must be secured by a safety belt when the vehicle they are riding in is driven by a person under the age of 18.
If I lock my keys in the car, will the police unlock my vehicle?
Kewanee Police will only unlock vehicles in an emergency situation (such as a small child locked inside).
What do I do in case of Identity theft?
Immediately file a report with the local police department and notify one of the credit bureaus listed below to place a fraud alert on your account. The company you call is required to contact the other two, which will then place an alert on their versions of your report.
- Equifax: 1-800-525-6285 or www.equifax.com
- Experian: 1-888-397-3742 or www.experian.com
- TransUnion: 1-800-680-7289 or www.transunion.com
Remember to file a report with the Kewanee Police or with the Police in the community where the identity theft took place. If you have any questions please feel free to contact the Kewanee Police Department at 309-853-1911.
I found a wild animal that need care, who should I call?
Tammy Yarger is registered with the DNR to rehabilitate wild animals. Tammy can be reached at 852-0701 or 540-9126.